On April 16th, the U.N. Security Council warned that “the Colombian peace process stands today at a critical juncture.” In his remarks before the Security Council, U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Jonathan Cohen stated that the United States is “deeply concerned about the continuing attacks against social leaders and human rights defenders” and called on the Colombian government to “redouble its efforts to protect these vulnerable members of society” and ensure “meaningful justice for victims and accountability for the crimes committed during so many years of armed conflict” as “vital to reconciliation.”

To bring sustained attention and investment to the historic 2016 Colombian peace accords and in furtherance of the protection of human rights defenders and social leaders who are in grave danger from escalating attacks and murder, Representatives McGovern, Lewis, and Schakowsky are circulating a “dear colleague” letter addressed to Secretary of State Mike Pompeo calling on the United States to stand firm in its support for the peace accords and a unified and unifying message in support of human rights and the rule of law.

Please contact your representative and ask that they sign onto this important letter

Deadline to sign on has been extended to COB Wednesday, May 22nd. Find contact information for your Representative by clicking here:

Representatives who have already signed onto the letter include:

Ruben Gallego (AZ)
Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ)
Ro Khanna (CA)
Barbara Lee (CA)
Mark DeSaulnier (CA)
Alan S. Lowenthal (CA)
Zoe Lofgren (CA)
Jared Huffman (CA)
Jim Himes (CT)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
Kathy Castor (FL)
Henry C. Johnson, Jr. (GA)
John Lewis (GA)
Ed Case (HI)
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Bobby L. Rush (IL)
Danny K. Davis (IL)
Jesús G “Chuy” Garcia (IL)
Chellie Pingree (ME)
David Trone (MD)
Jamie Raskin (MD)
James P. McGovern (MA)
Ayanna Pressley (MA)
Katherine M. Clark (MA)
Rashida Tlaib (MI)
Andy Levin (MI)
Ilhan Omar (MN)
Emanuel Cleaver, II (MO)
David E. Price (NC)
Ann McLane Kuster (NH)
Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ)
Deb Haaland (NM)
Adriano Espaillat (NY)
José E. Serrano (NY)
Jerrold Nadler (NY)
Earl Blumenauer (OR)
Peter A. DeFazio (OR)
Susan Wild (PA)
David N. Cicilline (RI)
Steve Cohen (TN)
Veronica Escobar (TX)
Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
Donald S. Beyer, Jr. (VA)
Peter Welch (VT)
Pramila Jayapal (WA)
Mark Pocan (WI)

To sign onto the letter or for additional information, please contact Cindy Buhl (McGovern) at cindy.buhl@mail.house.gov; Jamila Thompson (Lewis-GA) at jamila.thompson@mail.house.gov; or Robert Marcus (Schakowsky) at robert.marcus@mail.house.gov.